adidas 2013 Range Preview – Adizero

Home/Running/adidas 2013 Range Preview – Adizero

Gearselected was invited to view the exciting new adidas 2013 range at their Covent Garden HQ in London, so I charged up the extra camera battery and headed over there to check out the sports performance gear.

The friendly and knowledgeable people at adidas made me very welcome, taking me through all the relevant products. There was a focus on running, showing off a potted history of adidas shoe technology advancements, followed by a display of all the key 2013 running shoes and running apparel. Continuing on the theme of technology improvements, there was a teaser for a new sole compound called BOOST that adidas will introduce some time in the first half of 2013. There was also the new adidas cycling range which you can read about here.

 

adidas Tech Innovation

The main focus of the press event was on running, with the lounge area dominated by a display of various adidas running shoe technologies, from Jesse Owen’s 1936 running spike, through the 1984 “Micropacer” – a forerunner to today’s MiCoach – which tracked time and counted steps, all the way to Jessica Ennis’ Adizero Prime Sp spike shoe. I especially liked the 1985 “aps”, which featured a simple key arrangement to change the compression of the cushioning in the heel πŸ™‚

A history of Adidas Running shoe technology
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Yeah, they were all yellow

Look at the stars, Look how they shine for you…. The “yellow” line in Coldplay’s lyric is meaningless, but yellow now has a proper meaning – adidas’ 2013 Adizero range of top end running products has a strong yellow theme running through it, so it will be easy to spot if you are wearing the latest gear. adidas break their main running range into three groups – Response being the entry level, Supernova being the Intermidate, with the Adizero being the ultimate optimised gear, packing as much technology as possible into just the right amount of material for sporty people with aspirations and goals to achieve. This article concentrates on the Adizero range.

The Adizero range

Women’s adidas Adizero Adios 2
adidas Womens Adios 2 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
2013

The current women’s Adios 2 could easily be mistaken for a men’s shoe, (unless you pay for a “mi” custom build!), but the colour scheme on the 2012 model takes the yellow theme and compliments it with a silver heel and subtle pink highlights in the logo, sole sides, one of the adidas stripes, top lace eyes and the torsion system undereath. This combination makes it a great looking women’s shoe.

It’s a light weight distance shoe with a little more cushioning than normal race shoes and has a medium to normal heel drop.

Women’s adidas Adizero F50 Runner 2013
adidas Womens F50 Runner 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The F50 Runner is taking over from the F50 2 to easily differentiate from the F50 football shoe. It’s similar in design with the split heel, but the 3 stripe design on the upper is different.

The silver and yellow theme continues, but with less pink here, and will appeal to a lot of runners.

The F50 Runner is all about light weight breathability without sacrificing cusioning.

Women’s adidas Adizero Tempo 5 2013
adidas Womens Tempo 5 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The 2013 model’s colour scheme is far better than last year’s mauve and deep blues, instead opting for a predominantly white upper, a flash of yellow in the heel, with pink laces and sole details.

As ever, the Tempo 5 provides light weight with stability and the shaped heel section keeps the weight down whilstl still providing a soft heel strike.

adidas Running Shoe Range 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Men’s adidas Adizero Boston 3 2013

adidas Mens Boston 3 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The colour change for the 2013 Boston 3 takes on a more understated persona, with a white upper, silver heels and yellow detailing and with looks like this, it could almost sit in the Originals range!

The Boston 3 aims to provide a marathon distance shoe for people who still want top end performance but want more cushioning than the Adios 2.

Men’s adidas Adizero Tempo 5 2013
adidas Mens Tempo 5 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens Tempo 5 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The current model has a very striking colour scheme that masks the transition from upper to sole, but the 2013 model loses a bit of impact. This is due to the 2013 model only using two main colours instead of the three enjoyed by the current model, so it comes across as visually a little weaker. Performance will remain unchanged unless yellow does actually make you go faster! Let’s hope there’s an alternative 3 colour choice at some point.

The Tempo 5 is a light weight cushioned stability shoe.

Men’s adidas Adizero Feather 2 2013
adidas Mens Feather 2 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens Feather 2 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The ultralite miCoach enabled Feather 2 features Sprint Web to eliminate seams.

The 2013 colours excel through the use of silver with white at the rear and notably the extension of the stunning yellow at the front all the way down into the base of the sole (like the 2012 black model), making it really stand out. It looks fast!

Men’s adidas Adizero Adios 2 2013
adidas Mens Adios 2 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens Adios 2 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Our favourite shoe of 2012 returns thankfully unchanged in 2013, with new colours in a yellow upper and heel splash, and a white heel support. Both the old bright orange and the new bright yellow work for me, so no doubt, I’ll be selecting a pair of these soon.

Interestingly the forefoot flex felt firmer than mine does currently and under the assumption that the shoe construction remains unchanged, it shows that the Adios 2 does soften up a bit at the front – I’m on 150+ miles now.

It’s a light weight grippy marathon shoe, but also excels at shorter distances for those with the pace to match.

Men’s adidas Adizero XT 4 2013
adidas Mens XT 4 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens XT 4 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Having struggled in some trail shoes with only medium knobbles during a super slippery cross-country race earlier in the year, these are high on my new shoe shortlist.

The light weight mesh should make drying after wet-puddle conditions easy and the serious knobble profile will make light work of mud and loose loamy dirt, with enough gap to shed properly and avoid clogging.

The black on the upper is a little bold against the yellow, but overall it works.

Men’s adidas Adizero Ace 4 2013
adidas Mens Ace 4 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens Ace 4 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The miCoach enabled Ace 4 provides a bit of extra cushioning under the forefoot than most of the Adizero models and includes the torsion system for stability.

It blends all four colours of white, yellow, black and silver, pretty successfully too. The sole looks like a skeletal structure which is appealing.

Men’s adidas Adizero Aegis 3 2013
adidas Mens Aegis 3 2013 side
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
adidas Mens Aegis 3 2013 base
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

New for 2013, the Aegis 3, updates on its predecessor with the addition of the grippier Continental rubber on the sole and Sprint Web for friction free running. The split density mid-sole provides shock absorption on the lateral side and propulsion on the medial side for stability.

It’s the only Adizero mens shoe to have the dark blue on the upper, making it stand out from the rest of the range.

Men’s adidas Adizero ClimaProof Jacket 2013
adidas Mens Adizero ClimaProof Jacket 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Another favourite of ours returns in 2013. The ClimaProof jacket puts wind and water resistance where it’s most needed, using more breathable fabrics in various areas such as under the arms and the top middle of the back. It’s incredibly light weight too.

The current model was yellow already, so unlike the rest of the 2013 range, this jacket has actually moved away from yellow towards a translucent white, popular in motorcross and cycling. It retains a yellow collar detail. Whilst I love the colour scheme it has lost the safety advantages of the current model’s yellow overload! I expect this will go down a storm though.

Men’s adidas Adizero Short Sleeve 2013
adidas Mens Adizero Short Sleeve 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

To go with the rest of your new yellow gear, you’ll need to select this short sleeve t-shirt for when conditions aren’t quite warm enough for a singlet.

Men’s adidas Adizero Shorts 2013
adidas Mens Adizero Shorts 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The shorts are dark grey with a yellow adidas logo. Not a lot else I can say about these!

Men’s adidas Adizero Singlet 2013
adidas Mens Adizero Singlet 2013
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

The singlet looks the business, with 3 stripes either side of the hips and a fade-to-white effect on the shoulders, carefully offset by a yellow neckline. All good!

The line

The 2013 adidas Adizero range is looking great in yellow.

Many thanks to adidas for their time and personal attention.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

If you have any questions or if there is a product on this page you own and you'd like to add your own thoughts, then please use the comments box at the bottom.

We aim to provide unbiased feedback that we hope is useful to both manufacturers and consumers alike. Disclosure: we may earn a lead generation commission from purchases made after following links from our site. This does not affect your purchase experience in any way and allows us to keep this site running.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Charles Rodmell

Charles Rodmell has been running and cycling since the 70's, mainly because no one told him to stop. He runs on and off road and occasionally barefoot. He rides mountain bikes as often as possible and sometimes a trials bike. If there's snow, you can find him on a snowboard.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:

Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
Google Plus
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Tags: , , , ,
By | 2017-02-02T21:27:54+00:00 October 27th, 2012|Running|15 Comments

15 Comments

  1. James November 20, 2012 at 09:57 - Reply

    Great article. Been using the Adizero Adios 2 for about 6 months and is by far the best racing shoe I’ve ever owned. Did they say when the new range would be available to buy?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Charles r November 20, 2012 at 16:11 - Reply

    No exact date, but I’m guessing it should be hitting shops by the start of December. I’ve asked adidas, so I’ll post again when I get a response. Meanwhile, please go ahead and add your own review of the Adios 2 to ours (https://gearselected.com/adidas-adizero-adios-2-review-running-shoe/) – see the button that says “press to review” πŸ™‚

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Kirstyn November 22, 2012 at 15:32 - Reply

    Hi James. Great to hear that you have enjoyed the Adizero Adios running shoe! Regarding our new spring/summer range, this will officially be available in store from the 1st January. Thanks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Tim November 23, 2012 at 17:16 - Reply

      Hi Kirstyn,
      By the looks of your reply you work for Adidas.
      I was wondering are Adidas going to release the Adidas Adizero Takumi Sen and Takumi Ren range here in the U.K, and if so do you know when?

      Many thanks in advance

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Denis December 31, 2012 at 17:57 - Reply

      Hi Kirstyn,
      Heavy line-up ! As James said before, the Adizero Takumi Sen seems to be a fan-tas-tic shoe and will be launched in february 2013 in the United States. European runners would be so happy to run in such lightweight and flat racers.
      Another trainers like Adizero Takumi Ren and Adizero Hagio (aka Adizero Feather RK in Japan) are all expected on that part of the world.
      Many thanks for your help.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Tim November 23, 2012 at 17:18 - Reply

    Great article and great shoes , just got into Adios’ recently. Feel really great to run in. Nice One!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Sami December 11, 2012 at 20:29 - Reply

    Great article on the new adidas stuff Charles! I too run in adios 2s and am happy to see they’re still going and in a colour scheme reminiscent of Haile Gebrselassie’s then World Record setting run at the 2008 Berlin Marathon.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. grae January 14, 2013 at 23:24 - Reply

    What is the difference between the Tempo vs. Ace ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Charles r January 15, 2013 at 09:32 - Reply

      Hi grae.
      The main difference is that the Tempo uses Sprintweb, which makes it a good choice for triathletes or people who want to avoid any rub points (or like running without socks sometimes), because there is very little inside for anything to rub on. Otherwise they are quite similar (stability via torsion, cushioned on heel and firmer adiprene+ up front). Hope that helps!

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. grae January 14, 2013 at 23:29 - Reply

    …also, I believe I saw an update to the Sonic, Possibly Sonic 5.0 ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Derek Rigmand March 18, 2013 at 13:13 - Reply

    Hi there, I am interested in the Men’s adidas Adizero Aegis 3 2013 I have contacted Adidas and they said I can purchase them direct from Adidas.co.uk however I would like to see them first, I’ve been told that there is none available in the shops {Scotland} or UK which would allow me to view. I find this frustrating to accept…can you help….oooh I would be purchasing 2 pairs.
    Kind Regards
    Derek

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Charles r March 18, 2013 at 19:55 - Reply

      Derek, all I can suggest is that you take a leap and buy them on https://www.adidas.co.uk
      Their returns policy is very good. Read it here: https://adidas-group-gb.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/26 So if you don’t like them for whatever reason, you can just return them.
      If you do get them, please leave some comments here on what you think of them πŸ™‚

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Derek Rigmand March 27, 2013 at 19:09 - Reply

        Hey Charles, I went for the new Boston’s Super 13 direct from Holland well https://www.adidas.co.uk ordered them late on thursday night & they arrived yesterday {Tuesday} cracking service, ran them on the treadmill today & are magic, cracking fit & nice and light…overall well pleased…

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  9. Rachel June 27, 2013 at 11:12 - Reply

    Hi I have been running in the adidas aegis 2 and love it. Can anyone tell me how the adidas aegis 3 compares. Has this model changed at all. I really hope not as the adidas aegis 2 is perfect. I really hate it when companies change a shoe that is not broken.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Charles r June 27, 2013 at 14:56 - Reply

      Hi Rachel, from looking at the pictures, although the base design is similar, the approach is slightly different. It remains a neutral shoe with a little extra guidance / support like the aegis 2. The aegis 3 has Sprintweb (which I don’t think the 2 had?) so that you could even wear these without socks since there are no seams inside to rub. To accompany this, there is a more substantial heel counter (that wraps around the heel to keep it in place). The aegis 3 will have more grip too because it uses the more modern outsole design with Continenal rubber. The torsion system is same but is now on display. I’d say that it should be an even better shoe, just from the Sprintweb. You won’t notice any change on the sole, but you might notice a slight change on the upper, thus making it worth trying on at your local running specialist since you are already in love with the aegis 2 design.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave A Comment

Pin It on Pinterest